Find out which types of yeast you should avoid if you're gluten-free (2023)

Yeast is safe in most casesgluten free diet:

  • The yeast you use to leaven your bread - is calledbaker's yeast- Gluten-free (except for one product I'll describe in detail below).
  • Yeast, which is listed as an ingredient in commercial baked goods and other products labeled "gluten-free," is also gluten-free.
  • nutritional yeast- Some people take it as a dietary supplement - Usually considered gluten-free.

However, there are two types of yeast that can do thisThis isgluten free:

  • Brewer's yeast, which is also used by many as brewer's yeastDietary Supplements, usually contain gluten. There are some gluten-free brewer's yeast products on the market (see below).
  • Yeast extract may be unsafe if included as an ingredient in foods that are not expressly labeled "gluten-free."

Yeast is a single-celled fungal organism that can grow (reproduce) on sugar and other carbohydrates. It originated hundreds of millions of years ago (long before humans appeared on Earth), and there are approximately 1,500 different species.

Yeast is used in cooking and brewing, and is a source of several important nutrients. Read on to learn more about gluten-free yeast status and where to find safe yeast products.

gluten free bread brands

baker's yeast

Yeast is very important in baking. When bread dough expands, it's because yeast is multiplying, producing carbon dioxide. When yeast produces carbon dioxide in bread, this gas becomes trapped in the dough, causing the bread to expand and become less dense.

Yeast used for baking is aptly called "baker's yeast". You can buy baker's yeast in small packets or loose at the supermarket. As it turns out, there are several manufacturers of baker's yeast in the United States. Here's what different companies say about the status of gluten-free yeast:

  • Popov Krivneylin.Bobowiedry yeastComes in 8 oz packages. packaged and considered gluten-free. The company processes its gluten-free cereals and other products in a different facility than its gluten-containing products. If you're also sensitive to oats, remember that Bob's processes gluten-free oats in its gluten-free facility.
  • Fleischmannov. This famous brand of yeast is available in yellow and red bags and jars. According to the company, Fleischmann's active dry yeast, instant yeast, pizza yeast, baker's yeast and fresh active yeast are considered gluten-free.Note that Fleischmann's Simply Homemade baking mixes are gluten-free.
  • Red Star, ŠAF and Bakipan.All three brands are manufactured by Lesaffre Yeast Corporation. All products are gluten-free, according to the companyApart fromRed Star Platinum, which contains enzymes extracted from wheat flour.If you prefer Red Star yeast products, the company recommends Red Star active dry yeast or Red Star instant yeast. Lesaffre also produces yeast that is sold to catering companies.

beer yeast

Yeast is also used to brew beer, and that's where gluten can infiltrate what's known as "brewer's yeast." As you can tell from the word "beer" in the name, brewer's yeast is traditionally a by-product of beer productionTraditional beer is not gluten-free.Many people take brewer's yeast as a dietary supplement because it is particularly rich in trace elementsseleniumin chrome.

9 Great Gluten-Free Beers to Try

brewers who brew beer tend to blendonly(or sometimeswheat) with hops and water, then brewer's yeast is used to convert the sugar in the grain into alcohol and carbon dioxide. This process makes the beer both alcoholic and carbonated.

Brewer's yeast produced during this process is sold as a dietary supplement. However, people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten intolerance must stay away from brewer's yeast made this way, as it is not gluten-free - it contains enough traces of gluten grains in the beer to make it It is not safe on a gluten-free diet.

Gluten-free brewer's yeast can be found grown on beets rather than beer. In fact, some people prefer this type of brewer's yeast because it doesn't have the more typical bitterness of brewer's yeast. Here are two possible brands:

  • Cornflower super earth pivski kvasac.Available in 1-pound and 2-pound containers of powder and 1-pound container of flakes, the product is "carefully grown on certified non-GMO beet molasses rather than the typical grain-derived brewer's yeast obtained through the brewing process." . "Cornflower is not only gluten-free, but also soy-free, dairy-free, non-GMO, vegetarian and kosher.
  • Brewer's Yeast Lewis Labs.Lewis Labs says it has "searched the world" for a product that is gluten-free, non-GMO and 100% natural. These beet-based yeast flakes come in 12.35 oz packages. tin. It's allergen-free, but remember it's produced in the same facility that also processes peanuts.

Since sourcing gluten-free brewer's yeast can be a problem for businesses, always check the label carefully before consuming a new batch of brewer's yeast, even if it looks the same as the product you've been buying for years.

nutritional yeast

Nutritional Yeast Growing on Beetsmolassesor sucrose. It is thought to be even less bitter than beet-based brewer's yeast. Instead, it has a cheesy, nutty flavor. Rich in B Vitamins and Seleniumzinc, but unlike brewer's yeast, it doesn't contain any chromium.Some people use nutritional yeast instead of cheese (it's vegan) or as a toppingPopcorn.

Here are some gluten-free nutritional yeast options:

  • Bob's Red Mill Nutritional Yeast Large Sheets.Like Bob's Baker's Yeast, the company's nutritional yeast flakes are gluten-free. They are available in 5 oz. Bag.
  • Bragg Nutritional Yeast Seasoning.Bragg's nutritional yeast seasoning and plain nutritional yeast flakes are gluten-free and popular with vegetarians and vegans. They are also sugar free and kosher.
  • Foods Alive Nährhefe Food.The brand notes that nutritional yeast "does not come in contact with barley (like brewer's yeast), is gluten-free, and is safe for people with celiac disease." It's also non-GMO, vegan, and kosher.
  • NOW Nutritional Yeast.Note that these are considered "gluten-free ingredients," not "gluten-free." Now state that they are not made with gluten-containing ingredients, but made in a facility that uses gluten-containing ingredients.
  • Nutritional Yeast from online store specializes in gluten-free nuts, but has other products too. This nutritional yeast is grown on concentrated, purified sugar cane and beet molasses. gluten-free products are handled separately from gluten-containing products.

yeast extract

Some food products, such as cheese, canned soups, and savory snacks, use yeast extract ingredients to create a unique, rich flavor. However, yeast extract may not be safe on a gluten-free diet because it may be derived from brewer's yeast.

In fact, it's Veteran Gluten-Free Nutritionist Tricia ThompsonThey tested several Marmite yeast extract smear samples(potpopular in the UK) using a sensitive gluten test and found to contain gluten above the legal limit. In Canada, where food laws require manufacturers to list barley (if it is an ingredient) on food labels, some yeast extracts are listed as containing barley.

for this reason,thompson suggestedDo not eat anything that contains "yeast extract" or "autolyzed yeast extract" unless the food is labeled "gluten-free." Alternatively, you can contact the manufacturer and ask if the yeast extract comes from the brewing industry.

9 Top Tips for Baking and Cooking with Gluten-Free Flour

A word from Verywell

As you can see, if you're gluten-free because you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten intolerance and want to supplement yeast for its nutritional benefits, you have a variety of gluten-free options. Also, if baker's yeast or yeast extract is listed as an ingredient in a gluten-free food, you don't have to worry about them.

However, you must avoid most brewer's yeast (except those made from it).beet, like the two I listed above), and you have to be careful when yeast extract is listed as an ingredient in a food that isn't clearly labeled gluten-free.

You should know that different types of yeast are not interchangeable. Both brewer's yeast and nutritional yeast are "inactivated," that is, washed and then heat-dried to kill microbes. Therefore, you cannot substitute brewer's yeast or nutritional yeast for baker's yeast - they will not leaven the bread.

Gluten-Free Food List: Know Exactly About Gluten-Free Foods

10 sources

Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed research, to back up the facts in our articles. read ourediting processLearn more about how we fact check and ensure our content is accurate, reliable and trustworthy.

  1. Beyond celiac disease.Is Yeast Gluten Free?.

  2. Bobov red mill.Is nutritional yeast gluten-free?

  3. Encyclopedia Britannica.Hefeppitz).

  4. Scientific American.Protozoan Science: Yeast-Like Animals.

  5. Bob's Red Mill Natural Foods.gluten free.

  6. Fleischmann's world of bread.dry yeast.

  7. Celiac Foundation.source of gluten.

  8. Mount yeast.

  9. Scientific American.Beer genomics: How humans tamed brewer's yeast.

  10. Bobov red mill.Nutritional Yeast Demystified.

Find out which types of yeast you should avoid if you're gluten-free (1)

Fengjane anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and expert on celiac disease, gluten sensitivity and gluten-free diets.

Check out our editorial process

Get to know our exam boards

share feedback

Was this page helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

What is your feedback?

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Msgr. Benton Quitzon

Last Updated: 07/13/2023

Views: 6276

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (43 voted)

Reviews: 82% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Msgr. Benton Quitzon

Birthday: 2001-08-13

Address: 96487 Kris Cliff, Teresiafurt, WI 95201

Phone: +9418513585781

Job: Senior Designer

Hobby: Calligraphy, Rowing, Vacation, Geocaching, Web surfing, Electronics, Electronics

Introduction: My name is Msgr. Benton Quitzon, I am a comfortable, charming, thankful, happy, adventurous, handsome, precious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.